Site logo

The Cayman Islands were colonized from Jamaica by the British during the 18th and 19th centuries and were administered by Jamaica after 1863.

In 1959, the islands became a territory within the Federation of the West Indies. When the Federation dissolved in 1962, the Cayman Islands chose to remain a British dependency. The territory has transformed itself into a significant offshore financial center.

  • Seven Mile Beach;
  • Stingray City;
  • George Town;
  • Atlantis Submarines;
  • Cayman Turtle Centre;
  • Bloody Bay Marine Park
  • Private Jets, Helicopters and Airliners
  • Finest Onboard Catering
  • Ground Transport and Yachts
  • Luxury Villa & House Rentals
  • Local Guide & 24/7 Assistance
  • Customized Global Services
  • The State's Capital
    George Town (on Grand Cayman)
  • Time Zone
    UTC -5
  • Telephone Code
  • Total Area
    264 Km2
  • Population
    64 309 (2022 est.)
  • Main Languages
    English, Spanish, Filipino
  • Currency
    Caymanian dollars (KYD)
  • GDP Per Capita
    USD 67500
  • Airports

    Tropical marine; warm, rainy summers (May to October) and cool , relatively dry winters (November to April)

    Mixed 40%, White 20%, African descent 20%, expatriates of various ethnic groups 20%

    Handshakes between men and women are the most common form of greeting.

    Turtle stew — a stew containing turtle meat, cassava, potatoes, onions, and peppers

    Dominant offshore banking territory; services sector accounts for over 85% of economic activity; recently adopted a fiscal responsibility framework to combat tax evasion and money laundering; large tourism sector; does not have any welfare system; high standard of living

Promotional Video
© Copyright, Courtesy of Cayman Tourism

You May Also Be Interested In